• Mate
  • Mate
  • Mate

Mate

A beverage with a story

Mate is a very typical drink in South America, which was known long before the colonization. Not only the native people drank the Mate tea, made by crunched, dried leaves of the Mate bush, also today around 80% of the Argentinians, for example, drink it at least once per week.

Optimal Conditions

The evergreen Mate bush is since many thousands of years domestic in the forests of South America. Here, the perfect climatic conditions for optimal growth can be found. The plant grows up to 14 meters, which is as uncommon for a tea plant as its oval leaves, which grow up to 20 centimetres. For this reason, some more modernized growing areas use cultures that only grow about six meters.

Vitalizing and therapeutic

Mate has many therapeutic characteristics, which are scientifically proven. It is very rich in vitamins (A, C, E, B1, B2) and minerals. Due to its caffeine content Mate has moreover a vitalizing effect on mind and body. It is slightly diuretic and fosters the development of gastric juice and salivation. Therefore the product is in Germany even allowed as natural remedy against tiredness. Due to the feeling of fullness that Mate creates, it is also traditionally used for diets.

Complex harvest

During harvesting the young leaves are picked and have to run through a complex drying process. After this the leaves will be crunched in coarse pieces and the stems will be removed. Now the raw Mate has to naturally ripe for 24 months, which gives the tea a slightly yellow colour. Through this process, the content of acid strongly decreases.

  • Coarse-Cut 4-8mm
  • Coarse-Cut 4-8mm
  • Coarse-Cut 4-8mm
  • Fine-Cut 0,2-2mm
  • Fine-Cut 0,2-2mm
  • Fine-Cut 0,2-2mm
  • Coarse-Cut 4-8mm roasted
  • Coarse-Cut 4-8mm roasted
  • Coarse-Cut 4-8mm roasted

• Mate
  • Mate
  • Mate

Mate

Getränk mit Geschichte

Mate ist so etwas wie das Getränk Südamerikas. Schon vor der Kolonisierung des Kontinents kannten die Ureinwohner den Tee aus den zerkleinerten und getrockneten Blättern des Mate-Strauchs. Bis heute trinken zum Beispiel rund 80 Prozent der Argentinier mindestens einmal pro Woche Mate.

Optimale Bedingungen

Der immergrüne Mate-Strauch ist in den Wäldern Südamerikas seit Jahrtausenden heimisch. Hier findet er die besonderen klimatischen Bedingungen vor, die er für ein optimales Wachstum braucht. Die Pflanze wird mit 12 bis 14 Metern ungewöhnlich groß. Um die Ernte zu erleichtern, werden in manchen modernen Anbaugebieten deshalb Züchtungen eingesetzt, die nur etwa sechs Meter groß werden. Auch seine ovalen Blätter sind mit ihren bis zu 20 Zentimetern Länge sehr groß für eine Teepflanze

Belebend und therapeutisch

Dem Mate-Tee wird eine Reihe therapeutischer Eigenschaften zugeschrieben. Wissenschaftliche Studien belegen, dass er sehr reich an Vitaminen (A, C, E, B1, B2) und Mineralstoffen ist. Aufgrund seines Koffeingehalts wirkt er zudem belebend auf Geist und Körper. Mate ist leicht harntreibend und fördert die Speichel- und Magensaftbildung. In Deutschland ist das Naturprodukt deshalb sogar als pflanzliches Arzneimittel gegen Müdigkeit zugelassen. Traditionell wird Mate auch wegen seiner Eigenschaft als Sattmacher bei Diäten eingesetzt.

Komplexe Ernte

Während der Erntezeit werden die jungen Blätter gepflückt und durchlaufen einen komplexen Trocknungsprozess. Anschließend wird das Blattgut grob zerkleinert und von den Stängeln befreit. Der Roh-Mate durchläuft im Anschluss daran einen 24-monatigen natürlichen Reifungsprozess, dadurch erhält er einen leicht gelblichen Farbton. Der Säuregehalt wird durch dieses Verfahren stark reduziert.

  • Grobschnitt 4 – 8 mm
  • Grobschnitt 4 – 8 mm
  • Grobschnitt 4 – 8 mm
  • Feinschnitt 0,2 – 2 mm
  • Feinschnitt 0,2 – 2 mm
  • Feinschnitt 0,2 – 2 mm
  • Mate geröstet, Grobschnitt 4 – 8mm
  • Mate geröstet, Grobschnitt 4 – 8mm
  • Mate geröstet, Grobschnitt 4 – 8mm